Soultalent Jalen Ngonda releases debut album 'Come Around And Love Me'

London, by-way-of-DC, musician Jalen Ngonda has released his full-length for Daptone Records, Come Around And Love Me. The album includes three well-received singles “What A Difference She Made,” “Just Like You Used To,” and “If You Don’t Want My Love,” which NPR described as "a sweet, sunshiny serenade invites the funk-threaded spirit of rock and roll."

Come Around And Love Me showcases production elements inspired by the soulful vibes of early 70's Motown, which his voice seamlessly harmonizes with, while singing about the early stages of a relationship, and seeking that sign from another person to jump all the way into the love you feel without any fear.

Recorded at Hive Mind Studios in Brooklyn, Jalen wrote and recorded the album alongside producers and arrangers Mike Buckly and Vincent Chiarito. Jalen's approach to music centres on his deep fondness for the abiding soul music of the 20th century, while recognizing that he's able to bring an eminently 21st-century perspective to those sounds. Come Around And Love Me combines those two eras, resulting in a remarkable debut album that encapsulates the essence of modern soul and R&B, showcasing one of the most compelling emerging voices in the genre.

Jalen has been writing songs from a young age, and his compositions are also very much of these times. He explains, “I love music from the 20th century - I listen to it all the time, but I’m in this world and the 21st century. a stranger, I’d describe my music as modern soul and R&B, while trying to fit in the Beach Boys and the Beatles somewhere in between.”

Come Around and Love Me reveals how he creates a classic approach that is rooted in the sounds of esteemed pioneers, without falling into imitation - leaving no doubt that Jalen will continue to shine within the superlative, timeless musical tradition that is Daptone’s trademark. 


  1. Come Around and Love Me
  2. If You Don’t Want My Love
  3. Lost
  4. That’s All I Wanted From You
  5. Please Show Me
  6. Just Like You Used To
  7. What A Difference She Made
  8. Give Me Another Day
  9. So Glad I Found You
  10. It Takes A Fool
  11. Rapture 

Listen to the full album here

Upcoming live dates (BNL):

  • Wednesday 8th November - Bird, Rotterdam (SOLD OUT)

More news