'Loss of Life' the brand new MGMT album is out now!

MGMT released their fifth studio album, 'Loss Of Life' the long-awaited followup to 2018’s Little Dark Age. The duo of Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser produced the 10-track 'Loss Of Life' with Patrick Wimberly (Beyoncé, Lil Yachty). Longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann (The Flaming Lips, Spoon) mixed the album as he has done on the group’s past four full-lengths.

Christine and the Queens appear on the song “Dancing in Babylon” – the first-ever feature on an MGMT album, which has additional production supplied by Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never), Brian Burton (Danger Mouse) and James Richardson, with Miles A. Robinson serving as associate producer and engineer. 


Loss Of Life released Feb. 23 on Mom + Pop Music, the band’s new home following a long tenure with Columbia Records. Also out today is the album’s guitar-and-synth-powered first single, “Mother Nature,” which builds from a wistful, strummy introduction to an anthemic swirl of noise by its conclusion. According to the band, the song “outlines the archetypical MGMT mythology of one hero attempting to get the other hero to come on the journey that they ‘must’ go on. One part sounds like Oasis.” MGMT spoke to Rolling Stone today about the new album, read it HERE.

“All joking aside (never!), we are very proud of this album and the fact that it was a relatively painless birth after a lengthy gestation period, and are happy to be releasing this baby into the world with Mom+Pop,” MGMT says. “Musically speaking, we are running at around 20% adult contemporary and no more than this, please.” 


“Simply put, the guys did it again!,” enthuses writer/director/The Best Show co-host Tom Scharpling in an essay about Loss Of Life. “They’re now five-for-five, which last time I checked gets you into virtually any Hall of Fame. This record projects an aura of undeniable warmth throughout, an album brimming with comfortable confidence. There are epic tracks and intimate portraits, a little bit of glam here, some psych-folk there. It’s a slice of magic that fits perfectly into the MGMT oeuvre while expanding the boundaries once again.”

Listen to the 'Loss Of Life' album HERE

Loss Of Life tracklist: 

1. Loss Of Life (part 2) 

2. Mother Nature 

3. Dancing In Babylon (featuring Christine and the Queens) 

4. People In The Streets 

5. Bubblegum Dog 

6. Nothing To Declare 

7. Nothing Changes 

8. Phradie's Song 

9. I Wish I Was Joking   

10. Loss Of Life

                                                                 FOLLOW MGMT 

More news