LA Priest shares video for new single 'Rubber Sky'

New album GENE out June 5th on Domino

With the new album GENE out this Friday, LA Priest has just shared the video for new track “Rubber Sky”. The new track is a slice of cosmic-laden funk from LA Priest which reflects on his solitary approach to creating music, acting somewhat aptly as a “loner anthem”. “Rubber Sky” also sees GENE (the custom built drum machine) coming to life, being used to its full potential. 

Self-filmed at home in The Shed during the UK lockdown the video for “Rubber Sky” is an eye-opening look into the psychedelic world of LA Priest. Seeing him perform alongside a giant replica of the GENE drum machine, LA Priest takes us behind the curtain of The Shed where he builds his machines, writes and performs live streamed events.

“Rubber Sky” follows the hugely successful “What Moves” which has racked up over 1 million streams globally and was featured on the playlist at both BBC Radio 1 and BBC 6Music.

GENE arrives four years after the iconoclast variously known as Sam Eastgate, Sam Dust and LA Priest thrilled the world with the cosmic pop of his debut album Inji, his first LP for Domino and his first solo output following the disbanding of former outfit, Late Of The Pier. GENE also follows the 2016 project Soft Hair in which Sam teamed up with Connan Mockasin for an instant cult-classic album.

GENE, the album, is named after a brand-new analogue drum machine Sam dreamt up and built alone. Working in isolation for more than two years in California, Wales and England’s south coast, soldering iron in hand, Sam developed the inners of GENE using dozens of electrical circuits he made up himself. The creation came after a search for an alternative to the structure and rigor of standard drum machines. Its unique rhythmic patterns are the focal point for the album, which is coloured by lush, pastoral tones, paired with the influence of his environmental changes.

GENE was produced alongside London based artist, producer, DJ and founder of Phantasy Sounds records, Erol Alkan.

GENE tracklist:
Rubber Sky
What Moves
Peace Lily
Open My Eyes
Sudden Thing
What Do You See
Kissing of the Weeds
Black Smoke
Ain’t No Love Affair

More news