The Paper Kites release new single ‘The Sweet Sound Of You’

Following their acclaimed 2021 release ‘Roses’, Australian indie folk-rock outfit, The Paper Kites, returns with ‘The Sweet Sound Of You’, the first single from their upcoming Roadhouse project.

In the winter of July 2022, the band performed an unannounced month-long residency in the small Victorian town of Campbells Creek in Australia while working on their sixth album. Locals and passers-by stepped in from the cold, foggy air to find a warm cracking fire, crowded tables, booths and a dimly lit bar.

"We had talked about this for years,” Sam Bentley explains, "We were drawn to the idea of holding up in a town somewhere and playing the evenings as a house band. The Roadhouse became this place for us."

‘The Sweet Sound Of You’ talks of the changing of the seasons, the passing of time and the memories that linger in between. Sam Bentley croons lyrics of carefully crafted imagery alongside Christina Lacy's lilting piano and the band at their tender best. Expanding their line-up, the five members of The Paper Kites recruited three extra musicians to make up their roadhouse band, including multi-instrumentalist Matt Dixon - who's weeping pedal steel features on the track - as well as Hannah Cameron and Chris Panousakis. Performances from The Roadhouse were filmed by cinematographer Keiren Watson-Bonnice and are set to be released with the upcoming singles.

‘The Sweet Sound Of You’ is the first taste of what's to come from the bands highly anticipated sixth album. Listen to the new single 'The Sweet Sound Of You' Here.

More news