World Circuit announces release of Ibrahim Ferrer's 'Buenos Hermanos' on Feb 28

Ry Cooder remixed and remastered this 'Special Edition' release

World Circuit will release a very special edition of Buena Vista vocalist Ibrahim Ferrer’s Grammy-winning second solo album ‘Buenos Hermanos’ on 28th February.

Originally released in 2003, ‘Buenos Hermanos’ was acclaimed as an audacious and assured album firmly rooted in tradition, whilst expanding the horizons of 21st Century Cuban music with its varied repertoire and modern sound.

Producer Ry Cooder has now gone back to the original tapes to re-mix the whole album, adding four previously unheard tracks from the original album sessions to a brand new sequence, creating a completely reimagined ‘Buenos Hermanos’.

It’s better than ever, if I may say,” comments Ry on the new mixes. “We went back into the session tapes and found songs that were overlooked for some reason, and you’re going to be as thrilled as I am. We’ve really polished it up and improved it and expanded it, it sounds almost brand new. There’s one thing for sure: we need something good, something beautiful in these days and times.

The first newly released track ‘Ven Conmigo Guajira’ is a lively interpretation of a classic Cuban country song in the romantic dance hall style. Available to listen to now, the song was originally penned by the renowned composer & bandleader Francisco ‘Machito’ Grillo (who died while performing at Ronnie Scott’s in 1984). “We must have been crazy to leave that out,” says Ry of the track, “That’s the best version of that song I’ve ever heard.”

‘Buenos Hermanos’ followed Ferrer’s first solo album ‘Buena Vista Social Club Presents Ibrahim Ferrer’ and was hailed at the time as a selection of fresh takes on classic songs and thrilling examples of the romantic ballads and boleros for which Ferrer was justly famed. It won the Grammy for Best Traditional Tropical Latin Album that year.

The handpicked core band is an unusual ensemble that combines the Cubans Orlando ‘Cachaíto’ López (bass) and Manuel Galbán (electric guitar, piano and organ), Ry Cooder (guitars), the esteemed Chucho Valdés (piano) and Miguel ‘Angá’ Díaz (congas). Additional inspired flavouring comes courtesy of accordionist Flaco Jimenez, the gospel-charged voices of the Blind Boys of Alabama and the ambient trumpet of Jon Hassell.

‘Buenos Hermanos [Special Edition]’ Tracklisting:

1. Boquiñeñe
2. Música Cubana
3. Boliviana
4. Me Voy Pa’ Sibanicú*
5. Buenos Hermanos
6. Mil Congojas
7. Ojo Malvados*
8. Guaguancó Callejero
9. Hay Que Entrarle a Palos a Ése
10. Perfume De Gardenias
11. Como El Arrullo De Palma
12. Mujer *
13. No Tiene Telaraña
14. Ven Conmigo Guajira*
15. Naufragio
16. Fuiste Cruel
17. Oye El Consejo

* previously unreleased tracks from original album sessions

More news