Will Young shares new new single (& Muna cover)

From his new album 'Crying On The Bathroom Floor'

Today Will Young shares an emotive and uplifting interpretation of MUNA’s pulsating track, ‘Crying on the Bathroom Floor’, as the next single to be heard from his brand new album of the same title, due August 6th. The track comes accompanied by an official video which prequels the video for 'Daniel' and was also directed by the renowned Andrew John "W.I.Z." Whiston (Disclosure, Kings Of Leon). Both visuals are to be part of the short film 'Just Like That', coming soon.

Watch ‘Crying On The Bathroom Floor’ HERE

Listen to ‘Crying On The Bathroom Floor’ HERE

'’Crying on The Bathroom Floor' was destined not only to be a single but the title of the album. For me, there is humour in the album title as well as sadness. My respect for MUNA is super high - they are just the sort of exciting, authentic act that make music worth listening to. It was a privilege to put my own spin on their song as well as a privilege to work with Richard X again on production. I also worked with Wiz on the video, a director who I have returned to time and time again. Both of whom I have a huge creative affinity with. I am looking forward to sharing the rest of the album with everyone. These are all songs written by strong, authentic and challenging, individual women that I find utterly inspiring."  - Will Young

In response to the track, MUNA says: "We’re so honoured that Will felt moved by our song ‘Crying On The Bathroom Floor’ and chose to not only put his own spin on it for his record of covers but also make it the title track.”

The single follows Will’s reworking of Bat For Lashes’ ‘Daniel’ - which has already earned its place on the A-list playlist at BBC Radio 2 - and recent cover of Clare Maguire’s ‘Elizabeth Taylor’. The album will also feature re-imagined versions of songs from the likes of Lykke Li, Robyn, Solange, Sky Ferreira and more.

Crying On The Bathroom Floor track listing:

1.            Daniel (original by  Bat For Lashes)

2.            Crying On The Bathroom Floor (original by MUNA)

3.            Till There’s Nothing Left (original by Cam)

4.            Indestructible (original by Robyn)

5.            Strong (original by London Grammar)

6.            I Follow Rivers (original by Lykke Li)

7.            Everything Is Embarrassing (original by Sky Ferreira)

8.            Losing You (original by Solange)

9.            Missing (original by Everything But The Girl)

10.          Elizabeth Taylor (original by Clare Maguire)


Crying on the Bathroom Floor follows Will’s 2019 #2 charting album Lexicon (also produced by Richard X), his 11 top ten singles, 4 number one singles and 7 top three albums, with 4 making it to number one.

 An activist, author, singer, songwriter, Radio Presenter, DJ and performer, Will recently released To Be A Gay Man through Penguin Books; discussing gay shame, revealing the impact it had on his own life, how he learned to deal with it, and how he can now truthfully say he is gay and happy. To celebrate the release of the paperback publication of the book, Will recently had a frank and lively discussion of sexuality, society, and self-acceptance with Rob Rinder (a.k.a. Judge Rinder) for Penguin Live. 

This September, Will embarks on a series of intimate live shows, performing several of the new tracks alongside classic songs acoustically and chatting with audiences across the country. For tickets and more information please visit here

More news