Thao & The Get Down Stay Down Share video for 'Pure Cinema'

New album 'Temple' out this friday - May 15

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, the Oakland-based band fronted by singer and songwriter Thao Nguyen, debut the new video for “Pure Cinema” today, taken from their upcoming album Temple due this coming Friday, May 15 on Ribbon Music.

Directed by Justin Mitchell (Death Cab For Cutie, The Postal Service, Phoebe Bridgers, Jenny Lewis), the video finds frontwoman Thao Nguyen and her bandmates performing in their respective homes during California’s Stay At Home order.

Of the new video, Thao notes, ““Pure Cinema” is such full band song, and it has so much to do with our years of touring as a roving family constellation, that I really wanted this video to highlight and celebrate The Get Down Stay Down. However much of a fraction I have been out there over the years, our band and crew kept me as safe and sane as was possible. They have been my stabilizing force for so long. As it goes with family I don’t know if I’ve ever truly thanked them or told them. It was so sweet and also quite bittersweet to see everyone at home, projected into our home. I don’t know when we can play shows together again, I don’t know what touring will look like. I miss the band.

Thao goes on to explain about the track, ““Pure Cinema” is about taking stock of how adrift I’ve been, in every sense of the word. It’s very easy to feel lost and alone even as you are surrounded by people. I’ve had a very compromised relationship to touring over the years. if you’re not right with yourself it is only going to be exaggerated as you cast yourself out into the world. I’ve floated above my life for a long time; I’ve landed now. It makes me so happy to see my bandmates settled and happy in their own homes and lives, as I am in mine. “Pure Cinema” is a cautionary tale and also an encouragement to keep faith and keep building home and family.”

1. Temple
2. Phenom
3. Lion on the Hunt
4. Pure Cinema
5. Marauders
6. How Could I
7. Disclaim
8. Rational Animal
9. I’ve Got Something
10. Marrow

More news