Steve Mason shares brand new track, ‘Like A Ripple’, from forthcoming ‘Coup d’état’ EP

Announces the ‘Keep Warm This Winter – Cause Trouble’ tour – a short run of ‘very special’ live shows in December.

Steve Mason makes a stunning return on 18th October with the 4-track Coup d’état EP on Double Six.

The EP features three brand new recordings alongside a Tim Goldsworthy remix of America Is Your Boyfriend, taken from his much acclaimed album About The Light, which was released in January of this year. The track listing of the EP is as follows:

1.   Like A Ripple

2.   Head Case

3.   Against the World

4.   America Is Your Boyfriend (Tim Goldsworthy remix)

The EP is available digitally on 18th October HERE and a limited 12” version will be released exclusively via the Domino Mart on 22nd November HERE

Talking about the opening track, Like A Ripple, which was shared today, Steve said:

Like A Ripple came from a 4am jam at Dan Carey’s studio in London. Dan and I just went down into his basement studio one night and played together for a couple of hours. I took some loops from that jam (Bomb Squad style ) and wrote a song around one particular 4 second loop. I then took the basic song to Brendan Lynch and we just threw a load of ideas at it. I was listening to I Travel by Simple Minds on repeat during this time, and wanted to do something with a similar energy.  The final bit of extra magic came from Eli, who had sung backing vocals on my About The Light album. After a bit of persuading that it should be her alone on the chorus she slipped from backing singer into spotlight mode and I had what I wanted.

Like Like A Ripple, the other two new tracks, Against The World and Head Case, produced by Steve Mac and Primal Scream’s Martin Duffy respectively, see Steve sonically reconnect with his more eclectic musical corners, closer perhaps to his Black Affair and King Biscuit Time work than the more recent albums under his own name.

Additionally, having recently announced a run of shows in November, Steve has announced a further short run just before Christmas under the banner of ‘Keep Warm This Winter – Cause Trouble’. Full details of the December shows, which Steve is ‘promising to do something quite different to mark the festive season…' will be revealed shortly.

Having received a glowing 5 star review from The Times for his show at EartH in Hackney in February, the full run of shows is follows:

  • 04.11.19 – Arts Centre – NORWICH
  • 05.11.19 – Arts Centre – COLCHESTER
  • 06.11.19 – Guildhall – GLOUCESTER
  • 08.11.19 – Brudenell Social Club – LEEDS
  • 09.11.19 – Academy – LEICESTER
  • 10.11.19 – Crescent Community Venue – YORK
  • 12.11.19 – The Old Fire Station – CARLISLE
  • 13.11.19 – Invisible Wind Factory – LIVERPOOL
  • 14.11.19 – Hare & Hounds – BIRMINGHAM
  • 16.11.19 – Shiine On Weekender – MINEHEAD
  • 17.11.19 – Sub89 – READING
  • 18.11.19 – The Boileroom – GUILDFORD
  • 19.11.19 – The Loft – SOUTHAMPTON
  • 24.11.19 – Fat Sam’s – DUNDEE
  • 25.11.19 – La Belle Angel –EDINBURGH
  • 27.11.19 – Whelan’s – DUBLIN
  • 28.11.19 – Empire Music Hall – BELFAST
  • 15.12.19 – The Trades Club – HEBDEN BRIDGE
  • 16.12.19 – The Exchange – BRISTOL
  • 18.12.19 – The Moth Club – LONDON
  • 19.12.19 – YES (The Pink Room) – MANCHESTER
  • 20.12.19 – St Bartholomew’s Church - BRIGHTON

Tickets for the shows are on sale now via:

More news