Owen Pallett announces physical release of new album 'Island' for March 5th 2021

Animated video for 'Paragon Of Order' is out now

Oscar-nominated composer and songwriter Owen Pallett is sharing “Paragon Of Order,” the first in a series of videos animated by Eric Kostiuk Williams. The song is from Owen’s latest album Island (Domino / Secret City), and the second video will be released on December 14th. Owen describes the two songs as, “an extroverted coda to an introverted album.”

Almost entirely acoustic, Island begins with 13 darkened chords, and was recorded live at Abbey Road Studios with the London Contemporary Orchestra. The introduction is sound of waking up - alone, and on the shore of a strange land. What follows is a shimmering and luscious orchestral album that draws across the full breadth of Pallett’s discography, from Heartland’s Technicolor to the glittering, fingerpicked guitar that marked Pallett’s first records with their trio, Les Mouches.

Island is about being alive, asking why, and all the most hideous stuff of life. The songs don't divulge the answers.  "I don't know what's happening next, guys," Pallett warns.

For the first time, Pallett - who has a lifetime of classical training - created an album without brooding over the way it might be performed on stage. This wasn’t easy:  Pallett’s initial reputation was founded on their live virtuosity, playing violin for groups including Arcade Fire and the Hidden Cameras, and a solo fiddle and loop-pedal act, under the name Final Fantasy. Pallett’s second release as Final Fantasy, 2006’s He Poos Clouds, was awarded the inaugural Polaris Music Prize.

About Owen Pallet
In addition to Pallett’s Grammy award-winning work with Arcade Fire, Pallett’s commissions have included string, brass and orchestral arrangements for Frank Ocean, Caribou, the Last Shadow Puppets, the National, The Mountain Goats, Christine and the Queens, R.E.M., Linkin Park, Sigur Rós, Taylor Swift, and the Pet Shop Boys. Since the release of In Conflict (2014), Pallett has earned an Oscar nomination for their film scoring work on Spike Jonze’s Her, and an Emmy for Sølve Sundsbø’s Fourteen Actors Acting. Their score for Matt Wolf’s Spaceship Earth, a documentary about a crew who spent two years quarantined inside a replica of Earth’s ecosystem called BIOSPHERE 2, is out now.

1. ---> (i)
2. Transformer
3. Paragon Of Order
4. ---> (ii)
5.The Sound Of The Engines
6. Perseverance Of The Saints
7. Polar Vortex
8. ---> (iii)
9. A Bloody Morning
10. Fire-Mare
11. Lewis Gets Fucked Into Space
12. ---> (iv)
13. In Darkness
14. Paragon Of Order (version)
15. Fire-Mare (version)

More news