Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds new album 'Ghosteen' out now

Premiere on YouTube last night

Ghosteen, the new two part album from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, is out now across all digital platforms.Vinyl and CD will be released on Friday 8 November, pre-order now at

The first chance to listen to the new album, Ghosteen premiered globally in full last night on YouTube, accompanied by a video revealing words and lyrics in a beautiful, ethereal cloudscape that shifted in colour and made subtle references to each song. In addition, listening sessions simultaneously took place in independent record shops across the world, with fans gathering to experience the music together.

The album was first revealed by Nick Cave on The Red Hand Files in direct response to a question from a fan.

Part One
1 Spinning Song 4:44 
2 Bright Horses 4.53 
3 Waiting for You 3:55 
4 Night Raid 5:08
5 Sun Forest 6:48
6 Galleon Ship 4:15
7 Ghosteen Speaks 4:03
8 Leviathan 4:48

Part Two
1 Ghosteen 12:11
2 Fireflies 3:23
3 Hollywood 14:13

‘The songs on the first album are the children.

The songs on the second album are their parents.

Ghosteen is a migrating spirit.’

Nick Cave

The album was recorded in 2018 and early 2019 at Woodshed in Malibu, Nightbird in Los Angeles, Retreat in Brighton and Candybomber in Berlin. It was mixed by Nick Cave, Warren Ellis, Lance Powell and Andrew Dominik at Conway in Los Angeles. Cover painting by Tom duBois.

Nick Cave - vocals, piano, synthesizer, backing vocal
Warren Ellis - synthesizer, loops, flute, violin, piano, backing vocals
Thomas Wydler - drums
Martyn Casey - bass
Jim Sclavunos - vibraphone, percussion
George Vjestica - guitar

Ghosteen is the seventeenth studio album from Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, following 2016’s Skeleton Tree, and is released via Ghosteen Ltd.

More news