Nerija to release debut album 'Blume' August 2

Listen to first track Riverfest

It is with great joy that Nérija announce their debut album, Blume, due for release on 2nd August 2019 on Domino. With the announcement of Blume comes the first track from the record, “Riverfest”.

The effervescent 'Riverfest' (written by the whole band), could perhaps be the entry point for anyone new to Nérija. With blistering playing from the band, it’s a track that exudes feeling, capturing the best aspects of their live sets while adding some indefinable studio magic.

Nérija will perform at the Into The Great Wide Open Festival, Vlieland.

Nérija are the septet of contemporary jazz luminaries, Nubya Garcia (tenor saxophone), Sheila Maurice-Grey (trumpet), Cassie Kinoshi (alto saxophone), Rosie Turton (trombone), Shirley Tetteh (guitar), Lizy Exell (drums) and Rio Kai (bass). Rooted in friendship, Nérija is a collective whose breakneck shifts in tempo and style rely on a deep understanding of mood, temperament and expression, a solid show of trust that extends beyond the usual bonds between musicians.

Recorded in the boat-shaped confines of London’s legendary Soup Studios and produced by Kwes, the overarching goal with Blume was to simply capture the rawness, warmth, joy and the spirit of their relationship and performance. One of the recording aims was to channel the feel of Teo Macero and Stanley Tonkel’s records with Miles Davis during his Columbia years, thinking “forward” as they did but for this band, capturing the controlled chaos and frame it with a timeless elegance.

Blume is a truly breath-taking collection of compositions that perfectly encapsulates everything Nérija; vibrant, engaging, infectious and truly current. For just over an hour, they take us on a sprawling wonderful journey, arriving at what is a majestic body of work; their personal and collective experiences and inspirations over the last half decade or so.

Blume tracklist:
01. Nascence
02. Riverfest
03. Last Straw
04. Partner Girlfriend Lover
05. EU (Emotionally Unavailable)
06. Blume
07. Equanimous
08. Swift
09. Unbound
10. Blume ii

More news