Mount Kimbie release two unheard tracks from classic album's sessions

"Black Stone" and "Blue Liquid" are out now

Marking the 4th Anniversary of Love What Survives, Mount Kimbie have released two unheard tracks from the classic album’s sessions - ‘Black Stone’ and ‘Blue Liquid’ - available to download and pre-order on white label 12” now.

Frank Lebon, longtime Mount Kimbie friend, collaborator and art director for the project, has brought in upcoming artist Peter Eason Daniels to direct a video for ‘Black Stone’ that also debuts today. “The video is about waiting, moving and stopping. Collective moments of solitude experienced between one place and another", Daniels says.

The music is classic to the Love What Survives universe - gated chugging sonics expanding atop an undeniable post punk back beat.  Fans can download both tracks by signing up via email or pre-order the white label 12”.

Mount Kimbie are Los Angeles-based Dom Maker and London-based Kai Campos. The duo grew from one of the most dynamic scenes in music to release two critically acclaimed albums on Warp Records - Cold Spring Fault Less Youth (2013) and Love What Survives (2017) - and have imprinted the Mount Kimbie aesthetic on the sounds of James Blake, Travis Scott, Slowthai, Jay-Z, King Krule and more.

In the past year, Mount Kimbie produced and featured on tracks for Slowthai’s number 1 album Tyron; and have designed and created music for Undercurrent - an immersive installation addressing the climate crisis through new interactive multimedia installations, that also features contributions by Grimes, Bon Iver and The 1975.

Maker contributed to the soundtrack of the Oscar winning short film Two Distant Strangers, co-producing the closing track 'Two Distant Strangers' which features Joey Badass; he also co-produced, with James Blake, a Travis Scott and Westside Gunn track that premiered at the Cactus Jack Dior Summer 2022 fashion show in Paris.

More news