HARD FEELINGS announce self-titled debutalbum out November 5th

Video for new single 'Dangerous' out now

Earlier in 2021 HARD FEELINGS, the brand new collaborative project between New York City’s singer/ songwriting powerhouse, Amy Douglas and Joe Goddard of Hot Chip brought you their single “Holding On Too Long”. Today it is with great pleasure that HARD FEELINGS announce their self-titled debut album. Due for release on 5th November 2021.

Along with the album announcement, HARD FEELINGS share their new track, “Dangerous” plus a video directed by Katie Paul. The track is low-slung with an empowering, driving beat, designed for dancing.

In Amy’s words, ’Dangerous’ is aptly named; slinky, sexy and drenched in hip-hop goodness.  Of all of the tracks on this LP, this is one where Joe and I worked backwards, usually our mode d'emploi is that I write melody and lyrics to his incredible productions.  Here is an old resurrected song of mine, that I brought in to the mix and Joe's incredible bass heavy, dag nasty production makes the whole song anew!  It also showed Joe and I that there really is absolutely no method by which we can't seemingly and quickly come up with these bangers. We write by telepathy!"

For all intents and purposes the self-titled debut album, HARD FEELINGS, is "an opera of sad bangers." Loosely conceptual without being a full concept album, the material is the ultimate immersive cinematic experience for your feet and ears, seated fluidly at the intersections of New Wave and Synthpop inspired Pop Music and full-on Dance majesty. Song by song, it focuses on the unravelling of relationships and their nuanced mystery, replete with ecstatic highs, painful mournful lows, and pure drama throughout.  

Here is a full LP, that will make you dance, make you cry, and make you feel.

New York City’s Amy Douglas has made her reputation across the worlds of house and disco with her distinctive voice and stellar songwriting ability, she has become the “go to” for providing powerhouse vocals and killer hooks. After features with everyone from Juan MacLean to Treasure Fingers, Amy has since worked with such artists as Luke Solomon, The Crooked Man, Horse Meat Disco. Recently writing “Something More” for Roisin Murphy on her recent album Roisin Machine, she has a wide range of notable champions from the likes of Bill Brewster, Andrew Weatherall and Sean Johnston.

Amy’s HARD FEELINGS counterpart, Joe Goddard is also synonymous with the electronic music world, widely-known in the front ranks of British producers, creating a sounds from across his panoramic musical life, from house, techno and disco to UK garage, R&B and electro-pop. Joe forms one fifth of the UK electronic-pop powerhouse, Hot Chip whilst alongside Raf Rundell, he is one half of The 2 Bears.

01. Love Scenes
02. Dangerous
03. Running Out Of Time
04. You Always Know
05. Take You Down
06. About Us
07. Holding On Too Long
08. Sister Infinity

More news