Deap Vally release a magnificent album 'Marriage'

“Marriage is the sound of Deap Vally tapping back into what makes them tick, and lays the groundwork for their most exciting era yet”

'Marriage' follows the success of Deap Vally’s acclaimed 2013 debut, Sistrionix, and 2016’s Femejism, as well as the band’s 2020 LP with Flaming Lips as Deap Lips, a hook-up which fired up the band’s passion for collaboration, a passion that has continued through the band’s recent EPs on songs with artists including Peaches, KT Tunstall, Jennie Vee (Eagles of Death Metal), Jamie Hince (The Kills), Savages, Warpaint and more. From these incredible collaborative projects, the seeds of 'Marriage' were sown.

Say Deap Vally of the new album, “Being in a band is like being in a marriage: sometimes it’s magical, sometimes it’s unbearably challenging. To reinvigorate that marriage we’ve made album three a genre-bending experiment with new collaborators and instrumentation that push the limits of what has previously defined us. 'Marriage' is our musical Rumspringa, if you will. We’re breaking free of the rigid creative constraints within which we previously existed (two members, two instruments, two voices). Writing with the calibre of musicians that we did on this record - like jennylee, KT Tunstall, Peaches, and Jennie Vee - was an unforgettable experience, and we’re so happy to have the result of our creative rebirth eternalised in 'Marriage'.


 Marriage Tracklisting:

1: Perfuction

2: Billions

3: Magic Medicine

4: I Like Crime (ft Jennie Vee)

5: Phoenix

6: Give Me A Sign

7: Better Run

8: I’m The Master

9: High Horse (ft KT Tunstall, Peaches)

10: Where Do We Go

11: Tsunami

12: Look Away (ft jennylee)

More news