Deap Vally Introduces a Striking New Album 'MARRIAGE'

New album out 19th of November via Cooking Vinyl

Deap Valley, the Los Angeles-based duo comprising Lindsey Troy and Julie Edwards, will release their magnificent third album,'MARRIAGE', on 19th November via Cooking Vinyl. The LP release follows the band’s recent acclaimed EPs, Digital Dream and American Cockroach, and is previewed with the new single, Magic Medicine, which was first played by Chris Hawkins on 6 Music earlier today.

'MARRIAGE' follows the success of Deap Vally’s acclaimed 2013 debut, Sistrionix, and 2016’s Femejism, as well as the band’s 2020 LP with Flaming Lips as Deap Lips, a hook-up which fired up the band’s passion for collaboration, a passion that has continued through the band’s recent EPs on songs with artists including Peaches, KT Tunstall, Jennie Vee (Eagles of Death Metal), Jamie Hince (The Kills), Savages, Warpaint and more. From these incredible collaborative projects, the seeds of 'MARRIAGE' were sown

Say Deap Vally of the new album, “Being in a band is like being in a marriage: sometimes it’s magical, sometimes it’s unbearably challenging. To reinvigorate that marriage we’ve made album three a genre-bending experiment with new collaborators and instrumentation that push the limits of what has previously defined us. 'MARRIAGE' is our musical Rumspringa, if you will. We’re breaking free of the rigid creative constraints within which we previously existed (two members, two instruments, two voices). Writing with the calibre of musicians that we did on this record - like jennylee, KT Tunstall, Peaches, and Jennie Vee - was an unforgettable experience, and we’re so happy to have the result of our creative rebirth eternalised in 'MARRIAGE'.”

Of the single, Troy and Edwards say "'Magic Medicine' is a song 5 years in the making, born in Allen Salmon’s Nashville studio, and raised in Josiah Mazzaschi’s Cave Studio back in LA. Initially a song about being high on what-have-you (body chemistry, lab chemistry, nature’s chemistry) the lyrics have taken on a new meaning in the era of coronavirus, a moment when more than ever we need a miracle cure to make it safe to have fun and feel free again.”

Pre-save album here

Marriage Tracklisting:

1: Perfuction

2: Billions

3: Magic Medicine

4: I Like Crime (ft Jennie Vee)

5: Phoenix

6: Give Me A Sign

7: Better Run

8: I’m The Master

9: High Horse (ft KT Tunstall, Peaches)

10: Where Do We Go

11: Tsunami

12: Look Away (ft jennylee)

More news