Deacon Blue announce new album 'Riding on the Tide of Love'

The lockdown companion album to 'City of Love'

Riding On The Tide Of Love” features 8 brand new songs and will be released on the 5th of February 2021 via earMUSIC on CD, LP, limited edition DTC coloured vinyl LP and digital. The album will be preceded by the release of the first single, the title track itself, on the 27th November 2020.

As Ricky Ross explains:

 “We never expected to be here, but here we are, ‘Riding On The Tide Of Love’. When we released ‘City Of Love’ back in March we celebrated it getting to No. 1 in Scotland and No. 4 in the UK, we were looking forward to a summer of festivals followed by a big tour at the end of the year. As we all know, that didn’t happen and once the dust had settled we realised we weren’t going to be going out on the road any time soon. ‘Riding On The Tide Of Love’ is a continuation of City Of Love, a companion piece that we recorded piece by piece, going into the studio one by one to record our individual parts. In its own way it’s brought us all together, we hope it will bring you together too. Three of the tracks that feature on this record, 'Look Up', 'Send A Note Out' and ‘She Loved The Snow' were recorded during the 'City Of Love' sessions, and the other tracks were started around the same time but have been finished during lock down for this release.”

The ‘City Of Love’ album was the fourth full album released during a prolific eight-year period for Deacon Blue and gave the band their highest charting album in 23 years. ‘Riding On The Tide Of Love’ springs from that same fertile time in the band’s career and serves to extend that rich vein of creative form.  This album is a continuation of City Of Love, a companion piece that was recorded piece by piece. The band went into the studio one by one to record their individual parts and in its own way it has brought them all together, we hope it brings you together too.

A Limited Coloured Vinyl Edition + signed print will be available exclusively on the Deacon Blue Shop:

Pre-order the album here:


 Riding On The Tide Of Love   

  1. She Loved The Snow
  2. Nothing’s Changed
  3. Look Up
  4. Time
  5. Send A Note Out
  6. Not Gonna Be That Girl
  7. It’s Still Early

More news