Ariel Pink shares video for 'Alisa'

Listen to 'Gray Sunset'


Today, Ariel Pink shares the video for ‘Alisa’, watch here. True to type, the brilliantly trippy,  lo-fi video features 80s style graphics and includes live footage from the archives. Watch here.

He also shares the gloriously ramshackle ‘Gray Sunset’,  taken from the re-issue of one of his seminal releases,  The Doldrums , which features on the second instalment of Ariel Pink Archives alongside Worn Copy and House Arrest. Listen to ‘Gray Sunset’ here

Representing Ariel Pink’s most classic recordings as Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti, the name used for his one-man recording venture between 1999–2004,  each release has been restored from the original cassette masters, which have been retransferred and remastered from single-track sources. The first volume of Ariel Archives was released late last year and featured new editions of Loverboy and Underground, plus the long-awaited follow up volume of rare and unheard tracks titled Oddities Sodomies Vol. 2.   The Doldrums and House Arrest will be presented on double LPs for the first time ever.
Ariel Archives makes an effort to reckon with the remarkable volume of outstanding music Ariel Pink made during this time. Rapidly evolving from crude proto-punk experiments to an adventurous home-recording aesthetic that explored a wide continuum of pop music, Ariel Pink developed a sound and image that would prove highly inventive and hugely influential.
Releases in the Ariel Archives series will be expanded to contain much of the original material left off prior reissues that were made available in the mid-2000s and are now out of print.   Expect further releases from Ariel Pink’s wondrous canon throughout 2020.

To celebrate the release of this second instalment,  on Saturday 25th April there will be a launch party / pop up at World of Echo in London.  A retrospective gathering from the vaults of Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti,  with a DJ set by Tim Burgess,  visuals and merch – expect the weird and wondrous to meet.

The Doldrums tracklist:
1. Good Kids Make Bad Grown-Ups
2. Strange Fires
3. Among Dreams
4. For Kate I Wait
5. Haunted Graffiti
6. Gray Sunset
7. The Doldrums
8. Envelopes Another Day
9. The Ballad Of Bobby Pyn
10. Don’t Think Twice (Love)
11. Until The Night Dies
12. Crying
13. Theme From Unreleased “Claris Gardens”
14. Let’s Build A Campfire Theme
15. Young Pilot Ashtray
Worn Copy tracklist:
1. Trepanated Earth
2. Immune To Emotion
3. Jules Lost His Jewels
4. Artifact
5. Bloody (Bagonia’s)
6. Credit
7. Life in L.A.
8. The Drummer
9. Cable Access Follies
10. Creepshow
11. One On One
12. Oblivious Peninsula
13. Somewhere In Europe / Hotpink !
14. Thespian City
15. Crybaby
16. Foilly Foibles/GOLD
17. Jagged Carnival Tours
House Arrest tracklist:
1. Hardcore Pops Are Fun
2. Interesting Results
3. West Coast Calamaties
4. Flying Circles
5. Gettin’ High In The Morning
6. Helen
7. Every Night I Die At Miyagis
8. House Arrest
9. Alisa
10. The People I’m Not
11. Almost Waiting
12. Oceans Of Weep
13. Netherlands
14. Higher And Higher

More news