Animal Collective announce new album 'Time Skiffs' for February 4th 2022

New single 'Prester John' with video out now

Today Animal Collective announce their new album Time Skiffs, due out February 4th on Domino. Time Skiffs is the band’s full-length follow-up to 2016’s Painting With and features nine new tracks, recorded by Avey Tare, Deakin, Geologist, and Panda Bear across the course of 2020 and mixed by Marta Salogni. Today they share the record’s first single “Prester John,” a track created by weaving together two songs, one written by Avey Tare and one by Panda Bear. “Prester John” comes alongside a video directed by Jason Lester.

Time Skiffs, the quartet’s first studio album in more than half a decade, feels like listening in on a conversation among four old friends, just as it felt during their inchoate early days or their Strawberry Jam heyday. These nine songs are love letters, distress signals, en plein air observations, and relaxation hymns, the collected transmissions of four people who have grown into relationships and parenthood and adult worry. But they are rendered with Animal Collective’s singular sense of exploratory wonder, same as they ever were. There are harmonies so rich you want to skydive through their shared air, textures so fascinating you want to decode their sorcery, rhythms so intricate you want to untangle their sources. Here is Animal Collective past 20, still in search of what’s next.

1. Dragon Slayer
2. Car Keys
3. Prester John
4. Strung with Everything
5. Walker
6. Cherokee
7. Passer-by
8. We Go Back
9. Royal and Desire

More news